jump to navigation

TGI TFL January 10, 2012

Posted by Merrilee in Running.
trackback

So for a number of months I’ve been complaining about hip pain. I had bursitis some time ago (also in my right hip) but this felt different. When I was doing longer runs it hurt more (and for longer after I ran). I put off going to the doctor because I didn’t want anyone to tell me to stop running, at least until after Clarksburg. But even post-Clarksburg, I put off dealing with it for some time. But finally the uncertainty was driving me crazy. What if I was doing long term damage? Or, what if the solution was simple, like a special shoe insert?

So in December, I made an appointment with my sports medicine doc. He’s also a runner, and one of the things I love about him is that he’s not going to tell me not to run. He did various tweakings and decided that I had strained my tensor fasciae latae (a small muscle that hangs out behind the IT band). The solution? Execute on a very difficult to do stretch, and roll it out using a foam roller. On my own, I tried rolling it out once before I saw him but it hurt so much the next day I decided it was the wrong thing.. It turns out that rolling it out makes a huge difference, so I’m doing that. I need to figure out how to work the complicated stretch into my life.

So what caused this? Was it related to my previous bursitis? (Nope.) Triggered by my scoliosis? (Nope.) It turns out that this is aggravated by running on hills (which is almost unavoidable for me, given where I live) and that I should shorten my stride on hills. He also endorsed my three day a week running schedule (never running two days in a row), and encouraged me to do a little more cross training.

Comments»

1. Elaine - January 12, 2012

Nice to hear from you. Sorry about your pain–happy about your finding a solution! Did you know I also have scoliosis? You’ve given me the idea to mention it on my blog. Another of our team runners also has it. Happy, healthy running to you!


Leave a Reply

