jump to navigation

Cautiously optimistic October 13, 2011

Posted by Merrilee in LMJS.
trackback

I haven’t been blogging about running because I’m afraid I’ll jinx myself. After all, every time I’ve blogged about my successes, I get injured. (Yes, it really is all about ME.) But it’s time for me to out myself.

I’m running a half marathon on Sunday, the Humboldt Half. If you’ve followed this blog, you know that I’ve not had a lot of success with my training in the past. So this time I’ve deviated from a more traditional training plan, so I’m not sure I’ll do well, but I am sure I will finish. I decided that my injuries were due to over training, so I cut back on my mid week running schedule, and have only been running two weekdays. On the weekends I’ve been doing a long run, and increasing the distance slowly. But I’ve been plagued by respiratory issues (I’m prone to summer colds for some reason) and I also went through a spell where I was unusally achey and just couldn’t run as far as I was planning to. For example, two weeks ago, I was going to run 11 miles, but could barely run 9 (and had to walk about a mile of that). But I have been consistent about training and (importantly) have kept up with yoga and have been good about stretching after long runs. On Saturday I ran 11 miles which included a LOT of hills (from my house to Lake Merritt and back through Piedmont). I’ve not only remained injury free, I’ve felt pretty good. So I guess I’m going to do it. Wish me luck.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

