jump to navigation

Treatment plan April 2, 2011

Posted by Merrilee in LMJS.
trackback

I promised that I would go see a doctor about my injury and thanks to a recommendation from a fellow runner, I found a doctor who seems like a good fit (let’s hope he knows his stuff!). At this point, I’m pretty much asymptomatic. My knee hurts a little, but I’m not limping or having problems putting weight on it. The doctor’s analysis is that it’s either a medial ligament (good) or a damage to the meniscus (bad). The treatment is for me to run a little on a treadmill — if it hurts, then I’m supposed to mark where with a sharpie and make an appointment to see him. If it doesn’t hurt, I can gradually return to running. He was  not happy that I didn’t bring my running shoes, which would have helped him see how well my current shoes support my feet.

The moral of the story: if you are injured, go see the doctor when things still hurt (in my case, with 10 days of work travel this didn’t seem like an option but I could have made the time). And bring your shoes to your appointment.

Comments»

1. Tony Gill - April 2, 2011

Not sure if you’ll remember this, M, but I tore a meniscus in a terrible drinking accident back in 2000 or 2001 (it happened in New York, but it was during my time at RLG). It wasn’t quite bad enough to require surgery, but I did a lot of physical therapy and wore a knee brace for a long time afterward.

The exercises and knee brace helped me to recover about 80%, but there was still a nagging ache that wouldn’t go away after a year or so. I eventually tried acupuncture, at the recommendation of a friend (since remarkably it was covered by RLG’s health insurance!), and found it extremely helpful in making that final recovery.

2. Elaine Merrill - April 6, 2011

Merrilee,
Thanks for this post and for the previous one. I think you are a brave and noble runner! Best of luck in getting back on track with your running. I hope it’s a source of satisfaction for you that you really did fully participate in that marathon that we’re not mentioning any more.


Leave a Reply

