jump to navigation

Waiting for the other shoe to drop March 26, 2011

Posted by Merrilee in LMJS.
trackback

This is a difficult blog posting to write, but it’s been about two weeks coming.

Three weeks ago, following our run over the ORF course, I was really hobbling around. That week, I didn’t run, took lots of ibuprofen, iced my knee, and visited my acupuncturist. Two weeks ago, I showed up for our group run in Lafayette, not sure if I would run or not. Part of the reason I headed out was that Olympic marathoner Magdalena Lewy-Boulet was speaking to our group (not only does she live in Oakland but I think she lives in my nieghborhood because sometimes I see her at our tiny neighborhood gym).

I left with the group not sure what I would do, and wound up running the whole 11 miles. I felt great until the next day when I could no longer walk normally. Since then I’ve been in denial — maybe my knee would recover and I could run the half. I’ve been traveling for work almost that whole time, so I didn’t have a lot of time to run but have been doing a ton of walking. And my knee has been surprisingly cooperative. But last night I had an epiphany.

I had to catch my very last plane of the trip and the connection was very tight (10 minutes, but in the same terminal). If I missed the flight I would spend the night in Washington DC and not get home until Saturday. After 10 days away, I’ve been missing my family like crazy so of course I ran to make the connection. My leg throbbed very painfully for about an hour, just after that little jog. Okay, I was wearing the wrong shoes and a heavy backpack but this was a sign. I’m not up to it. I’m not going to run in the ORF. Again.

The worse part is that I feel like I’m letting people down. I’ve been running to raise money for the United Cancer Society and even thought this is the only thing to do, I feel like I’m not keeping my part of the bargain. But I do need to take care of myself. I need to lay off running until I’m really healed, actually make an appointment with a doctor, and find other ways to keep active.

Today I need to go down to the ORF headquarters to see what I can do — maybe someone else can take my slot. I will also see if the LMJS folks need help on race day. It doesn’t seem like enough, somehow, but it’s something.

Comments»

1. suzee - March 26, 2011

Hi, Merilee – I’m on the training listserv because I signed up for the half training, but had to drop due to a bad ankle sprain in November (I’m two months back into training now, running the 5K tonight). I’ve enjoyed following everyone’s progress over the last few months, but it’s been terrible to hear the stories of having to drop out at the last minute. I’m so sorry! I can only imagine the frustration, and having it happen two years in a row is brutal.

I hope to see you next year!

2. Margaret Schultz - March 26, 2011

Such a bummer! You are doing the right thing for yourself but still, I know it must be disappointing. And if you raised $ for United Cancer Society, that is awesome, and the money is still raised. You did your part. Thanks for all your support over the last few months!!

3. btwashburn - March 27, 2011

That is a heartbreaker. You did the right thing by running for the plane home, of course. And in addition to raising money for UCS you did run the half in 2:10 a few weeks ago, which was also awesome. Rest that knee and feel better, you have many great races ahead of you.

4. Merrilee - March 27, 2011

Thanks, guys. I feel better now (although when I was at the expo, I cried twice, once at the Determination booth and once at the LMJS booth). I’ll be at the LMJS tent tomorrow pushing people out and cheering them back in. Thanks for understanding me, and for being there.

5. Jackie - March 30, 2011

You’re our champ regardless! Speaking as one of your supporters (in every respect), I’m proud both to have cheered you on and honored Nancy. Forge on!

6. Third time. The charm? « MerrileeIAm - March 24, 2012

[…] the first ORF (up to the point where I dropped out). And the second ORF (up to the point where I dropped out at the last minute). Perhaps because of this, this whole training season, I’ve been very cautious about […]


Leave a Reply

