jump to navigation

Snow Job February 28, 2011

Posted by Merrilee in LMJS.
trackback

Yesterday, I ran 12 miles in the snow.

I’ve been waiting to write that for almost a week, because for several days, the forecast for Friday and Saturday called for snow. Not just in the hills (we routinely have shortlived snow flurries at our house at around 800 feet) but at sea level. Accumulation would have been unlikely, I think, but it sounds extreme, doesn’t it? Like I’m really a very dedicated runner, to be out in such conditions?

As it turns out, our run along the Canal Trail in Walnut Creek was about as pleasant as it gets. Temperatures were cool, in the 30s when we left the Sports Basement parking lot, but it was sunny enough that I ditched my extra outer layer in the car right before we left. The run was almost completely flat, with few traffic lights. The route was out and back with an extension, and although I was pacing, I failed to take note of the exact mileage at our first major turn, so we wound up running almost 12.5 miles instead of just 12. That’s 3.5 miles further than last week’s run, and almost the full distance I’ll be running just 4 weeks from today. I’m tired and I definitely feel it in my knees, but over all I feel good. We’re almost there, and I’m almost ready. My goal is 2 hours (a 9:09 pace). On the one hand, given the information distributed during the training program, this seems attainable. On the other hand, it seems nutty. Then again, my pace for the Tilden Tough Ten (which is, um, tough) was 9:18. We’ll see.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

