jump to navigation

Training in the rain February 19, 2011

Posted by Merrilee in LMJS.
trackback

I managed to dodge the rain by running at the gym and just plain getting lucky (as I mentioned previously) my luck didn’t hold out and there was nowhere to hide on our 9 mile run from the Emeryville Marina to the Berkeley Marina and back (the marathoners continued on the Bay Trail towards Richmond for a 20 mile run). It actually wasn’t so bad — the rain was fairly light for the first 5.5 miles, and it only really started pelting us once we turned back.

It’s not considered sporting to complain about the weather in California at any point, but it was in the high 30s this morning, and around 42 when we ran. Usually, overcast conditions mean that it’s a little warmer, but we must have an Arctic influenced front moving through. Even with fingerless gloves, my hands took some time to warm up, but the rest of me was fine and I quickly shed my next-to-useless rain layer (it was only making me sweat) and just rain in a thin long sleeved shirt and full length tights. A good reminder that I need to continue to resist the notion that I’ll be too cold when running. Once I stopped, I cooled off quickly. I did have a full set of dry clothes in the car, but even after changing and cranking the heat, I wasn’t fully warm until a long hot shower and bath, followed by a bowl of hot noodles.

Last week I ran 11 miles, and I was surprised to see that this week called for slightly less mileage. Not sure why that is, but I’ll take it.

Comments»

1. Elaine Merrill - February 20, 2011

Thanks for this post. It reminded me to be more positive–even though I already did a post about this morning in which I whined a bit!


Leave a Reply

