jump to navigation

Running between the raindrops February 15, 2011

Posted by Merrilee in LMJS.
trackback

Last week, I did my speedwork but failed to run on Tuesday and Thursday. On Monday night it was super windy and I tossed and turned and by the time it was time to get up at 5:30, I was exhausted. On Thursday, none of my running partners were available so I slept in. And because I was having all day meetings at work, I never got around to running. Consequently, I had tons of energy for our 11 mile run on Saturday, which was a preview of the half marathon course. I paced for 9 miles and then opened it up for a speedy 2 miles. It may be contrary to our training plan, but it gives me comfort to know that I’m not completely toasted at the end of a long run, and can still pick up my heels.

The weather turned to rain on Monday, which made me sorry that I squandered the beautiful weather last week. I also squandered my opportunity to flake out — one week of running holiday is enough. So I reluctantly did my speedwork on the treadmill at work. Normally, I hate running on treadmills, but the gym at work is equipped with DVD players, so I watched the first half of the Kite Runner while I ran. Not bad at all!

And this morning, although I was completely prepared for rain, it was dry and pleasant. So while I was overdressed, I didn’t get wet. The forecast for the rest of the week calls for rain, so I’m sure I will still have an opportunity to get wet. But now I’m off until Thursday!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

