jump to navigation

Over the hump January 25, 2011

Posted by Merrilee in LMJS.
trackback

Well, I did run yesterday, but only 3 miles. Not even 3 miles, 2.75. Monday is the day I’m supposed to do intervals at a faster pace, and yesterday the schedule said “2 x 4 minutes, hard.” So I ran 2 4-minute segments, hard. Hard enough that I thought I was going to keel over. It made matters worse that I was doing a trail run, one I normally enjoy, but one with some pretty steep hills. So although my legs were churning and my heart was pumping, I was not exactly moving fast. In fact, it felt like I wasn’t moving at all. Frequent glances at my watch did nothing to make the time go by faster. Running hard, it turns out, is hard.

In December I read Born to Run. I have a lot to say about this book, but one of the main takeaways from the book is that running should be fun and even joyful. Yesterday was not joyful. Today I ran with the ladies at the lake. 4 miles at my “normal” training pace, and it felt just fine (if not joyful). And now, the dreaded schedule says I get a day off. I’ll take it!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

