jump to navigation

Running out of excuses (not to blog) January 17, 2010

Posted by Merrilee in LMJS.
trackback

I am Merrilee and I’m a runner.

That’s a little funny to say because I don’t think of myself that way. I consider myself a cyclist and a caver, even though I’ve probably done more running (cumulatively) over my life. So what’s changed? I’m running a half marathon in March.

I’m also doing something else I’ve never done before, which is train with a group. When I rode in the Death Ride in 2005, I didn’t train with anyone. I would have loved to have found someone to train with, but it never happened. I not only logged many extremely lonely hours training, but also rode in the event by myself. It was great, it was a goal that I reached, but it was boring, and I never want to do that again.

Fortuitously, when I looked into running in the Oakland Running Festival, I noticed that there was a local group to train with, the Lake Merritt Joggers and Striders. I have been running with the group since December.

At first my goal was to just finish, but now it’s clear to me that if I don’t get injured, I will finish. I have no idea what pace I should be running (I’ve never competed in a race, or if I did, it was a 5k in the 80s, or the half marathon I ran in 1999 but only because my sister Penelope kept me going). So I’m betwixt and between.

One goal I have set is to blog about my experience. Len asked those in the training program if any of us would blog, and since MerrileeIAm has become moribund, I’m taking this opportunity to revitalize the blog. I hope those LMJSers who read this don’t mind some intrusions from my “regular” life. And for those in LMJS, I’m the chatty person who runs in the 9:30-10:00 pace group. I won’t be offended if you don’t want to talk.

Comments»

1. Len Goldman - January 17, 2010

Wow, you did the Death Ride! That’s impressive, the half marathon should be a piece of cake in comparison. Keep blogging about your running and hopefully it will encourage a few others to rise to the challenge too. Thanks.

Len

2. Penelope Bullock - January 19, 2010

Right on Merrilee! I think you will enjoy running with a group. Many of my greatest friendships and memories trace back to my collegiate running days. Keep us all updated on your progress =]


Leave a Reply

