jump to navigation

Auto warranty scam August 20, 2008

Posted by Merrilee in Annoyance.
trackback

Over the past several months, we have received numerous letters and phone calls urging us to “extend the warranty” on our car. This is kind of ridiculous, since two of our cars are 20 and 30 years old; the third car is considerably newer, but is still out of warranty.

I’ve tried asking what car this is associated with, and the caller will say things like “usually the newest one.” I have tried asking to be removed from the call list, and the callers hang up on me. If I ask the name of the company, they hang up on me. And yes, I am on the National Do Not Call list.

I am sorely tempted to try to have fun with these people. I particularly love this “counter script” for dealing with phone solicitors. Maybe I should try to get them to “extend” the warranty on my 1977 VW van? The few times I’ve tried to engage them, they won’t play. Phooey.

There have apparently been a rash of these, and it appears to be some sort of scam.

Comments»

1. Penelope Bullock - August 20, 2008

This sounds familiar. I get “last chance to extend warranty” notices, and yet they still trickle in.

2. Tony Gill - September 6, 2008

I’ve had a couple of these recently too, usually automated — and I haven’t owned a car for several years!


Leave a Reply

